Table of Contents

FC Bayern Munich is the short form of Football-Club Bayern Munchen e.V but it is commonly called FC Bayern Munchen or simply Bayern Munich. It is a famous sports club in German who runs different types of sports such as football, basketball, bowling, chess, ice hockey, and many others but it is famously known and popular through football because it has been able to collect much professional football team. This club has been able to achieve numerous awards, 20 national cups, international cups, and many more European honors through football only. Thus, in the whole German football history, FC Bayern Munich has been able to become the most successful one.

Quick Info
Full NameFußball-Club Bayern München e. V.
Nickname(s)Der FCB (The FCB),
Die Bayern (The Bavarians),
Stern des Südens (Star of the South),
Die Roten (The Reds),
FC Hollywood
Short nameBayern
Founded27 February 1900; 120 years ago
GroundAllianz Arena
PresidentHerbert Hainer
ChairmanKarl-Heinz Rummeniggie
ManagerHans-Dieter Flick


It’s been 120 years since FC Bayern Munich has been founded. It was founded in the year 1900 by Munich Gymnastics club member. Under the leadership of Franz John, along with 11 players, the first game was won against local opponents. Within a year, they were able to win their first regional league called the Bavarian league. In the following years after winning multiple regional leagues in 1962, they won their first South German Championship.

FC Bayern Munich

Bayern club had difficulties during World War I as both Landauer- the founder and coach of the club were Jewish. They were forced to leave the country but after the war, Landauer again returned and became the club president. After that, the club faced countless ups and downs and was on the verge of going bankrupt at the end of 1950 but after the presidency of industrialist Roland Endler, the club had their stability and started to continue their games.



FC Bayern Munich’s first golden years began when they got qualified for the European Cup Winners’ Cup and had their first victory against a Scottish club called Rangers by 1-0. Under the guidance of coach Branco Zebec, they successfully won their first league and cup double.

Along with the other four German clubs, FC Bayern Munich became one of the four clubs to achieve the Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal in German history with only 13 players in the whole single season. The club made its breakthrough internationally setting multiple records by winning Cup Winners’ trophy in 1967 and two semi-finals in 1968 and 1972 respectively. They also won the European Cup Final in the year 1974 against Atletico Madrid. The club also won the Intercontinental Cup defeating Brazilian club Cruzeiro after that they didn’t win for the next decade.

FC Bayern Munich


FC Bayern Munich won their third league and cup double led by the coach Ottmar Hitzfeld.  In 2001, on the final day of League season, they again won the Bundesliga. After 25 years of defeat, they won the Champions League for the fourth time. In the 2001-02 season they won Intercontinental Cup, in the 2002-03 season they led the league and won their fourth double.

For the next following seasons, they were defeated so another coach Felix Magath led the team for the next two seasons. Yet again their performance remained erratic and was defeated to Alemannia Aachen. In the following season 2006-07, they came in the fourth position by the leadership of Hitzfeld. So, for the first time in the decade, they failed to qualify for the Champions League.



In German football history, FC Bayern Munich is recognized as the most successful and victorious team. They have won countless championships, cups and broke numerous records after every up and down. They’ve set over 30 records on Bundesliga Champions and 20 records on DFB-Pokal, 7 records on DFB/DFL-Super Cup, and 6 more records on DFL-Ligapokal all of which were domestic one. They also won countless European Cups among which 6 are UEFA Champions League, 1 UEFA Europa League, 1 UEFA/European Cup, and 1 UEFA/European Super Cup. Worldwide, they’ve won two Intercontinental Cup and 1 FIFA Club World Cup.

FC Bayern Munich


FC Bayern Munich is divided into five departments. They are the Reserve team, Junior team, Women’s team, senior football, and All-Stars. The Senior football and All-Stars department was founded in 2002 and 2006 respectively. There is also a referee department which was founded in 1919. It has a total of 110 referees among which 2 of them are women and is said to be the largest refereeing division in the whole European countries.



FC Bayern Munich has played on the number of different fields and stadiums. Their first stadium owned by themselves was Sixties Stadium which was destroyed in World War II and patched again. At those times over 50000 people used to come to watch their match for which stadium had the capacity of 21,272 seats. So, the city of Munich again built another Stadium called Olympiastadion. It had a capacity of 79000 seats but again this stadium wasn’t favorable during the winter season and there were furthermore complaints from the crowds. So, the city again decided to build another new stadium in collaboration with the state of Bavaria which is called Allianz Arena. For every Bayern’s game, the stadium lit in red color.